BTEC is the world’s most successful and best-loved applied learning brand, engaging learners in practical, interpersonal and thinking skills for over 25 years. BTECs are vocational qualifications designed to give students the skills they need to move into higher education or employment. BTECs are highly flexible, giving educators the freedom to create the programmes they want to teach and that students want to learn.

BTEC qualifications cover a huge variety of sectors and are available at the following levels:

Entry-Level 1: Foundation Learning

Foundation Learning is a framework of learning (made up of units and qualifications) at Entry 1, Entry 2, Entry 3 and Level 1. Learners study a personalised programme that leads to a mix of small, flexible qualifications, as a basis for progression to further learning or employment.

For more information on Foundation Learning please click here.

Level 2: BTEC Firsts

Around 100 BTEC First qualifications are available, each linked to an industry sector. Students may take BTEC Firsts alongside core GCSE subjects such as English, maths and science.

For more information on BTEC Firsts please click here.

BTEC Foundation Diploma in Art and Design 

This is a Level 3-4 programme, normally lasting a year that prepares learners for a higher ed qualification in this area.

For more information on this foundation diploma please click here. 

Level 3: BTEC Nationals

There are over 300 level 3 BTEC Nationals to choose from, all designed as specialist qualifications for those who have a clear view of their future career or want to progress into higher education. They are an alternative to A levels, accepted as an entry requirement for universities and further education colleges and highly valued by employers. BTEC Nationals are suitable for students aged 16 and upwards and are recommended for those who have achieved at least four A*- to C-grade GCSEs or have completed a BTEC Level 2 First. 

For more, click here. 

Level 4-5: BTEC Higher Nationals

The BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificates (HNCs) and BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diplomas (HNDs) are widely recognised by universities and professional bodies. The HNC is often studied part time alongside full-time employment, and an HND is often studied full time.

A Higher National student will develop management and other higher-level technical skills required by employers. After a period of usually two years, students often progress to the final year of a degree programme. Level 5 Higher Nationals can be studied in both further education colleges and universities. 

For more, click here. 

BTEC WorkSkills

The purpose of WorkSkills is to enhance employability and encourage students to gain soft skills that help with career progression. Learners wishing to gain BTEC WorkSkills can choose from a range of unit options. Many units build on existing life and workplace skills, while some develop skills integral to the school and college timetable. 

For more, click here. 

BTEC Professional and Specialist Qualifications

These qualifications are designed to give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment, as well as provide career development opportunities for those already in work. For more information, please click here.

For more information about all entire BTEC offering, please click here.