BTEC is the world’s most successful and best-loved applied learning brand, engaging learners in practical, interpersonal and thinking skills for over 25 years. BTECs are vocational qualifications designed to give students the skills they need to move into higher education or employment. BTECs are highly flexible, giving educators the freedom to create the programmes they want to teach and that students want to learn.

BTEC qualifications cover a huge variety of sectors and are available at the following levels:

Entry-Level 1: Foundation Learning – 9th Grade

Foundation Learning is a framework of learning (made up of units and qualifications) at Entry 1, Entry 2, Entry 3 and Level 1. Learners study a personalised programme that leads to a mix of small, flexible qualifications, as a basis for progression to further learning or employment.

For more information on Foundation Learning please click here.

Level 2: BTEC Firsts – 10th Grade

Around 100 BTEC First qualifications are available, each linked to an industry sector. Students may take BTEC Firsts alongside core GCSE subjects such as English, maths and science.

For more information on BTEC Firsts please click here.

Level 3: BTEC Nationals – 11th & 12th Grade

There are over 300 level 3 BTEC Nationals to choose from, all designed as specialist qualifications for those who have a clear view of their future career or want to progress into higher education. They are an alternative to A levels, accepted as an entry requirement for universities and further education colleges, as well as being highly valued by employers. BTEC Nationals are suitable for students aged 16 and upwards and are recommended for those who have achieved at least four A*- to C-grade GCSEs or have completed a BTEC Level 2 First.

For more information on BTEC Nationals click here.

BTEC Foundation Diploma in Art and Design – 12th Grade

This is a Level 3-4 programme, normally lasting a year, preparing learners for higher education.

For more information on this foundation diploma please click here.

WorkSkills – 11th & 12th Grade

The purpose of WorkSkills is to enhance employability and encourage students to gain soft skills to help career progression. Learners wishing to gain BTEC WorkSkills can choose from a range of unit options. Many units build on existing life and workplace skills, while some develop skills integral to the school and college timetable.

For more information on BTEC WorkSkills please click here.